English Journal: Week 9 (600-900 Words Magazine Article)

Tick Tock. Time is ticking, and it’s 2 weeks away from school’s midterm test! I honestly feel anxious for the midterm test, because my formative test result isn’t impressive at all. UGH.

Apparently, there’s no new main material this week. Instead of learning the new main material, we continued the past 2 weeks material which is writing for a specific audience. In the past 2 weeks, we were drafting and creating paragraph outline our 600-900 words magazine article which is titled, Small Change. After weeks of drafting, we finally create the real paragraph this week.

Before we write our magazine article, our English teacher did a quick review of punctuation for our grammar lesson this week. I’m sure we all have been using punctuation since we were in elementary school because punctuation is one of the grammar basics.

Based on the Cambridge dictionary, punctuation is (the use of) special symbols that you add to writing to separate phrases and sentences to show that something is a question, statement, etc.

Punctuation marks are essential when you are writing. They show the reader where sentences start and finish and if they are used properly they make your writing easy to understand. In speaking, we use pauses and the pitch of the voice to make what we say clear. Punctuation plays a similar role in writing, making it easier to read.

The most common punctuation marks in English are capital letters and full stops (.), question marks (?), commas (,) , colons (:) and semi-colons (;) , exclamation marks (!) and quotation marks (“).

As what I’ve told you in my previous journal, my magazine article is about a cupcake business. Obviously, as a writer, I need to overcome challenges of the topic that I’ve chosen at the beginning. In writing a business magazine article, I need to know really well and keep track of the facts and statistics of businesses in the world or particular country.

I need to face the lack of information, due to the small range of cupcake businesses especially in Indonesia, that’s why I chose Australia. I also need to overcome writer’s block (this is what you feel when you find it difficult to write. You just don’t know what to write, you’re not in the mood, and you don’t know when you will be in the mood), I overcame this by taking some rest and stop writing, because sometimes, you’re experiencing writer’s block because you have been writing for so long that it’s killing you.

Time. I need to practice a lot more, so I could finish my paragraph faster and on time. But the most difficult challenge is on finding ideas of what to write at the beginning of each paragraph. I should admit that creating a paragraph outlining really helps in writing even though it takes time to think and make.

Hopefully, by practicing more and more I will be better in writing this kind of paragraph, especially in gaining ideas and efficiency in time.

One thought on “English Journal: Week 9 (600-900 Words Magazine Article)

Leave a Reply

